#WIPmarathon Report #24!

4

January 31, 2016 by Ifeoma Dennis

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

Still editing

Current report WC + CC/ SC: NA

WIP Issues This Month:

I started re-reading the first draft of my book this month. I found out I use a lot of telling instead of showing in that early draft. My character also was not strong enough.

Four things I learned this month while writing:

I also started A Song of Ice and Fire on the train to rotations, and I love how he givesย  unique qualities to his characters, and how he assimilates that seamlessly mostly using the way other characters talk about another character.

What distracted me this month while writing:

I had the most of my interviews this month, so lots of traveling (and lots of money spent too), and on top of that, I had to complete all my outstanding visits at my current rotation, which meant I had to work everyday, including Saturdays.

Goal for next month:

Similar with goals I had last month!

About to catch up with everyone elseโ€™s posts!

4 thoughts on “#WIPmarathon Report #24!

  1. There is definitely something to be said for leaving a work for awhile and returning to see where you need tightening. Show Don’t Tell is one of the trickiest things for me. I see it in others’ work so clearly but struggle to see it in mine sometimes, especially when I’ve read through mine a thousand times and it all seems set in stone!

    I’m sorry you’ve had such a whirlwind time of things lately and I hope it settles down! You’re doing so much, as ever, and getting stuck in a good book in the midst of it is the best possible response, keeping that inspiration and motivation alive ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy February, sister! xx

  2. Krystal Jane says:

    So busy! I’m glad you found some time to look over your story. I hope next month’s schedule is easier on you!! Have fun with this story! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Amy McNulty says:

    Good luck with everything! (Yay for reading ASOIAF!) Trying to balance telling with showing when worldbuilding is tough.

  4. Wow, sounds like you’re busy! Best of luck with the edits. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

