Final #Wipmarathon Check-In for 2015

7

December 26, 2015 by Ifeoma Dennis

Now at the end of the year, it seems like 2015 went by pretty quickly although during the year, nothing could have dragged by slower.

Here’s my recap for the year!

Things I’m Glad I Did In 2015:

Passing the three board exams I wrote last year. Considering they gave me loads of anxiety, I’m glad I could look back and be thankful I got through them all.

Sending emails to programs after I applied late for residency. I’m glad I got good advice from Yael Itamar and followed it.

I got out of my comfort zone a lot of times in 2015 in terms of interpersonal relations, being the introvert I secretly am, and I’m happy fear didn’t stop me from doing that.

I like to believe I learned more kindness and more patience and more humility and more positivity.

In 2016, I’ll love to:

Continue being kind and brave and optimistic and full of positive energy.

I’ll also love to be more selfish, in terms of devoting my time to friendships with people who return the favor, not people who want me to continuously prove myself to them.

Read more books.

Finish my book. I used to think I’ll finish it before my birthday on February 28, but now I think I’ll shoot for April 30 instead.

Continue sharing and celebrating our writing progresses together! 😀

Now on to our month’s check in:

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

Still editing

Current report WC + CC/ SC: NA

WIP Issues This Month:

Sadly, none.

Four things I learned this month while writing:

Didn’t write this month, but I started reading The Book Thief. I feel the books I read most easily are the ones where the language is flowery without being superfluous.

What distracted me this month while writing:

Traveling for interviews and meeting up with friends this Christmas week 😦

Goal for next month:

Re-read my first and second drafts so I can get a hang of how to start my book.

Read one of the Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series that have been sitting idle on my Kindle to inspire me to write.

Finish the critique I owe Yael Itamar!

What are everyone’s goals for next year?

 

7 thoughts on “Final #Wipmarathon Check-In for 2015

  1. You had an AMAZING year, accomplished so much, and put in so much hard work… on top of that, *yay* for getting out of those pesky comfort zones!! I’m so inspired by how hard you work and how you push through fears to embrace life.

    I hope you’ve had a very Merry Christmas, and I look forward to hearing all about the adventures 2016 brings you, my friend! 🙂 xxx

  2. Yael Itamar says:

    “I’ll also love to be more selfish, in terms of devoting my time to friendships with people who return the favor, not people who want me to continuously prove myself to them.”

    Yes. So much this.

    The Book Thief is a beautiful book.

    Good luck with all your goals this year!

  3. Krystal Jane says:

    Congratulations on your exams!! Yay! All the best for finishing up your novel early next year! I’m cheering for you! ^_^

  4. Amy McNulty says:

    Congrats on all your accomplishments this year!

  5. I started a new novel. I’m also working on proofing my next release. I like to break it all up with micro-fiction and short stories. I may release another collection this year.

  6. Congratulations on a fantastic year! Best of luck with your 2016 goals. Fingers crossed on finishing your manuscript next year! ^_^

  7. Super congrats on everything you’ve achieved this year! You rock!! *writerly fist bumps*

    I absolutely agree with you about books with ‘flowery’ language being easy reading if it doesn’t become more about the prose than story. I intensely dislike non-flowery writing; makes for bland, boring reading in my opinion.

    And wishing you all the best with your goals for 2016, especially with wanting to finish your book by the end of April!! 😀

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

