#WIPMarathon Report #21

4

October 31, 2015 by Ifeoma Dennis

So sorry this is late, had rotations today and wrote it just now I came back. Here we go…

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

Current report WC + CC/ SC:

Didn’t do a lot this month, unfortunately.

WIP Issues This Month:

No issues, mostly because I didn’t write 😦

Four things I learned this month while writing:

I didn’t write, but I read for a bit this month while on buses/planes. Read Girl on The Train, and also read a bit of A Game of Thrones: A Song of Ice and Fire. Two things I learned from them:
Emphasizing female friendships in novels is a little something that could make a difference between a good novel and a great one. I loved the friendship in Girl on The Train between Rachel and Cathy.
I love how George RR Martin is so flowery with his descriptions. Not over the top, but a little description of how the tombstones in Winterfell were, small things that gave me great imagery as I am yet to watch the series.

What distracted me this month while writing:

Rotations. Moving to Baltimore. Preparing for, and attending said interviews.

Goal for next month:

Plot out my novel.

How did everyone else do for October?

4 thoughts on “#WIPMarathon Report #21

  1. I have yet to read any of GRRM, or Girl on the Train! I need to get to both. It’s great to hear you’ve had reading time despite all your busy-ness. Sadly, when I’m here and there and everywhere, reading is one of the first things to go 😦 I REALLY need to work on that. Thanks for reminding me it’s wholly possible 🙂

    And yes, thanks for the point about female friendships. That’s something else I need to work on!

    I didn’t post for October because while I did some work, none of it was drafting and really didn’t feel worthy of a post, but I will definitely have one for November (since, NaNo…). I hope you’re doing well! 🙂 xx

  2. I like GRRM’s writing style – his books are really gripping!

    Wow, good luck with the move! Hopefully you’ll be able to get some writing done soon. 🙂

  3. Amy McNulty says:

    I’m glad you got some reading done when you’ve been so busy! You’ve lived more places in this country in just a few years than I have in my whole life. 0-0

    I know what you mean about female friendships. Unfortunately, I kind of failed in that regard in my first ms, but I’ve tried to correct it in other mses. (Weird, since 99% of my own friends are female!)

  4. Krystal Jane says:

    I like good description. 🙂 I have the first Game of Thrones book, but I haven’t read much of it yet. It’s not really my thing, but it is horribly interesting.

    Hope things are good in Baltimore!

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

