#WIPMarathon Report #18

7

July 25, 2015 by Ifeoma Dennis

 

The only good thing about this month is that it’s the last time I’ll not have words to report. *knock on wood*. So please bear with me. ❤ I also look forward to joining word sprints on Twitter again (they helped me a lot during my first draft), and you know, actually getting words written.

 

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

Current report WC + CC/ SC:

Still ….

 
WIP Issues This Month:
Nothing much to complain this month, sadly. This was another non-writing month because  my brain seems to be less able to multitask the closer my exams are. However, I do have a writing-related issue. I’d love to save everything on my computer to an external drive, so my old Sony Vaio runs faster. I’m wondering if there is a way I could save Scrivener to my external drive without losing all the thousands of words I’ve written so far?

 

Four things I learned this month while writing:

Didn’t write, but I read a bit of this book called Unglued by Lisa Terkeurst, and she said something about striving on, one day at a time to get to where we want to be. So I’m taking the same lesson to heart about writing. I might be unbearably slow, but I’ll be steady. I might be distracted and overwhelmed by other things I need to attend to, but I won’t lose sight of this dream.

 

What distracted me this month while writing:
Studying (postponed my exams to middle of August, because I don’t feel sufficiently ready yet). Oh and I did visit Florida on the Fourth of July weekend to see Harry Potter World. Loved it! Also, traveling to Barbados next weekend, and moving to Chicago when I come back the week after! So it has been a bit hectic running around for all these different things.

 

Goal for next month:

I should have a lot of time in the world once I get done with my exam mid next month (so yay for something to report!).

 

Can’t wait to read how your month in writing went , and live vicariously through you!

7 thoughts on “#WIPMarathon Report #18

  1. YAY!! Sorry I’m so late in replying. I missed last month AND this month with WIP Marathon updates, so thank you for the reminder… (I’ll post one for the past two months but it’ll be seriously late).

    So when do we start sprinting on Twitter again? 🙂

    I hope your computer migration is going smoothly. I saw your post on FB! It can be scary but backing up Scrivener is really easy. Do you back up to the cloud at all? I back it up to my hard drive, and then I use Time Machine (Mac) to back up to an external drive once a week, but I also back up at the same time to Dropbox. If you haven’t been doing that, I highly recommend it for peace of mind! So even if your Scrivener explodes all over the place, you can easily reinstall and link up your backed up files.

    I have that Unglued book on my Kindle but haven’t read it — thanks for the reminder! Prayers for a fun and safe trip to Barbados, and that your move goes smoothly… so busy but hopefully next month you’ll be able to settle in to routine. For now, enjoy the time away! 🙂 xx

  2. I LOVED Harry Potter World! So much fun! Good luck on your exams. I know you’re going to do fantastic. You’ve done so much studying and preparing. Good luck! 😀

  3. Sarah Fox says:

    There’s absolutely nothing wrong with slow and steady, especially when you have as much going on in your life as you do. Good luck with your exams and enjoy your time off after! ❤

  4. Wow, you are super busy. I hope the travelling and move to Chicago goes well so that you can settle in after exams and get back to writing 😉

    Wishing you all the luck for your exams!! You Can Do It!! 😀

  5. Harry Potter World sounds awesome – jealous! Have fun in Barbados, too.

    I think if you back up your Scrivener files onto an external hard drive, you’ll be able to access them from any computer – I transfer mine back and forth between computers frequently, and I’ve never lost anything. 🙂

    Best of luck with your exams! ^_^

  6. Amy McNulty says:

    It sounds like you’ve been busy! 😀 I’m envious you got to see Harry Potter World. Have a nice time on your trip and yay for you coming back to Chicago!

  7. Krystal Jane says:

    I know little about Scrivener, but I can’t imagine why you wouldn’t be able to just reinstall it on your external drive and move your files over. I did that with a video game when I was in college.

    I loved Harry Potter World!! I went a couple of years ago. I hear they added some things, so I really need to get back!

    Lots and lots of well wishes for your exams next month! And for all the traveling you’ll be doing! Wow…I’m sending lots of good writing vibes your way, as well. ^_^

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

