WIPMarathon Report #17

5

June 27, 2015 by Ifeoma Dennis

My only consolation writing this report is I only have one more report to go before I actually have something to report.

 

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

Was plotting.

 

Current report WC + CC/ SC:

….

 
WIP Issues This Month:
My WIP was at the backburner this month, sadly. However, I thought about my characters a lot, and the general direction of my novel, especially with regards to diversity. I believe my whole body of characters  are well diverse, but now, I’m having second thoughts in the order they should proceed. So  I think—even though what I’m about to write may not make a lot of sense—instead  of starting the series with the story of the daughter of the twelfth (as it is with my current WIP), I would have to start with daughter of the first.

Although of course, like I wrote last month, I don’t think any much writing or solid plotting can happen until August, which is when I’ll be done with my exams.

 

Four things I learned this month while writing:

Some prologues can actually be interesting.

 

What distracted me this month while writing:
Wrote one of my two exams on the 12th of June, and have the other that I’m hoping to write end of July, all things being equal. So there wasn’t much time left between studying, doing my rotation, attending volunteering orientations, and generally living.

 

Goal for next month:

My goal for July is a bit weird, but I want to make time and study as much as possible so I can actually be done with my exams end of July and get back to writing in August.

Can’t wait to read how everyone’s writing went this month, and get inspired all over again!

 

 


 

5 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Report #17

  1. I think it’s a particular kind of cruelty to set exams during the summer! You should be on holiday soaking up sunshine, not studying! But I’m glad it’ll be over in July and you can get back to writing in August 😉

  2. Prologues can totally work and be interesting! I kind of like them, despite all the taboo about them. YAY for one more month to go! Good luck with studying and with your exams– I know you can do it, and I’m so excited for you! 🙂

  3. Krystal Jane says:

    Best of luck with your exams. Brainstorming is incredibly helpful and will come in handy when you get back to your story. Focus on acing those tests! ❤

  4. Amy McNulty says:

    Good luck with your exams! I’m always thinking about my fiction even when I can’t work on it, too.

  5. I think it’s a great idea to focus on your exams and studying first. Fingers crossed you’ll have lots of time for writing later on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

