WIPMarathon Report #16

6

May 30, 2015 by Ifeoma Dennis

Our 16th report wooh! Though it makes me sad that I’m still working on the same novel since the beginning. Anyway….on to May report!

 

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

Was plotting.

 

Current report WC + CC/ SC:
*still plotting*

 
WIP Issues This Month:
I didn’t do much writing this month, if I’m to be honest, I don’t think I can until August, which is when I’ll be done with my exams.

 

Four things I learned this month while writing:

I guess we’re told to start novels in the middle of the action but when it comes to fantasy, especially the kind I’ll call “abstract fantasy” like mine, where you’re introducing lots of new stuff, it might be better to start it simpler. To draw the reader into the world slower.

 

Also, I don’t think anymore that I would go through with plotting my whole series before writing. That would be too much. Instead, I’ll just work on each of my characters’ powers and motivations, and then refine my current plot. But again, this is coming slow, and I don’t expect to make much headway until August!

 

What distracted me this month while writing:
Life in general.

 

Goal for next month:

I have an exam next month, and another in July (hopefully), so I don’t know if I have lofty goals for next month. I guess a good one would be to just make more preliminary research on my other characters that would feature in subsequent novels, but whose motivations would help in my current one.

How did May go for everyone?

 


 

6 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Report #16

  1. Best of luck on your exams, girl — you’ve got this, I KNOW it!!! Just think of all the time that your imagination has to whir away in the background, while you’re busy studying, preparing yourself for mega-write sessions come August 😀

    As for starting in the action, I know what you mean with fantasy. I think it makes much more sense with a fantasy or SFF or speculative world to ease into the story, not start in the middle of some epic battle or someone running from/to someone else. I take that whole “start with action” to mean the character is doing something, even if it’s trying to find where they left their glasses 😉

    Keep me posted on how your June exam goes!!! ❤

  2. Good luck on your exams! I know you’re going to do AMAZING. Don’t worry about plotting and writing and stuff. Everything has a time and place, and this project still sounds amazing. I’m weird about plotting series, too. What I found that worked with my GYRE books was to just think overall, give the main conflict for each book, who the narrators for each were, and their #1 main conflict was (whether that was related to the book’s conflict or not), and *only one* per narrator. Then I wrote in order. Sort of.

    Good luck again!

  3. Amy McNulty says:

    Good luck on your exams! Sorry you haven’t been able to write much, but you’re juggling a lot of things–I think it’s great you’ve been plotting!

  4. Krystal Jane says:

    Best wishes on your exams! I’m agreeing with Suzanne. Sometimes only being able to think about your story is a good thing. You can work out a lot of the kinks in your head before they make it to the story. Never underestimate the power of brainstorming! 🙂

  5. Good luck with your exams! Hopefully you’ll have loads of new ideas by the time August rolls around. 🙂

  6. No writing until August? *hugs* But maybe the forced break is a good thing too. Sometimes stepping away from a work for a while helps gain fresh perspective and recharges the muse.

    Good luck with your exam in June!

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

