WIPMarathon Report #15

6

April 25, 2015 by Ifeoma Dennis

The year is flying by so fast!

Many congrats to Suzanne and Amy, who had their book birthdays in the last month! Still running out of time to read extra-curricular books sadly, but I can’t wait for my next mini-vacation (which is soooon, “knock on wood”!) to catch up with all our books!

 

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

45 121 words. Was still plotting.

 

Current report WC + CC/ SC:
*still plotting*

 
WIP Issues This Month:
Figuring out what individual powers to give all my characters, and where they would all fall into the story to give rise to the big picture. It shouldn’t be big deal, however, my anxiety was in full force this month waiting for my exam results (which came in last Wednesday, and I passed!), so I failed to give a nice bow tie to my ideas.

 

Four things I learned this month while writing:

Found out writing a novel requires the same amount of dedication I give my school books. And guess I’ve come to accept the fact that this book might not be finished until 2017, and I’m okay with that.

I need a good book to recharge, and awaken my muses.

 

What distracted me this month while writing:
Anxiety mostly.

 

Goal for next month:

Work on my WIP at least one Saturday night. I have two more exams to write between June-August (not sure when I’ll be ready), so dealing with those would be taking up my time for the next quarter of this year. Hopefully, things would clear up once I’m done with those!

 

How did everyone do? ❤

 

6 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Report #15

  1. I didn’t even touch my then-WIP while I was at uni, only on summer breaks, and I was doing a flippin’ film degree, not medicine! You’ve done so much and made so much progress since I met you, AND you passed your exam — CONGRATULATIONS!!! So thrilled for you!!!! 🙂

    Take it one day at a time and know that all the while you’re studying for exams and doing your rotations, your WIP is stewing away in the back of your mind and characters are getting sorted and ideas are meshing. It will all come together!! YOU ROCK!! xxx

  2. I didn’t write much in school, either. I was too busy writing papers every week for my anthropology classes. I wouldn’t sweat it so much. Like everyone else has said, there’s only so much room in your head, and school is important! Good luck with the rest of your exams!

  3. Congrats on your exams!! I don’t think I would’ve been able to juggle school and writing the way you do so much respect!

    Wishing you all the best with the rest of your exams and all things writerly! And thanks for the shout-out about my release 🙂

  4. Congratulations on passing your exams! 😀

    I put writing on hold for months during my exams at school and university. I find there’s only enough room in your head for so many things at once!

    Best of luck with the other exams!

  5. Amy McNulty says:

    Congrats on passing your exams! *confetti* And thanks for the book birthday wishes!

    I know what you mean about needing more time. I really wish writers could get like grants and time off from other responsibilities to just write for a week or two or three–think of how much we’d get done!

  6. Krystal Jane says:

    Congratulations on your exams! ^_^

    I have to say, I didn’t write much when I was in school. I could have made more time for it, but sometimes there’s just so much other stuff going on that I would rather have some down time then try to write.

    Good luck with your exams. I hope you get everything you need figured out for your story!

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

