WIPMarathon Report #14

8

March 28, 2015 by Ifeoma Dennis

And another month bites the dust..

On the great side, Suzanne’s I HEART ROBOT is releasing on the 31st!

 

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

45 121 words. Was still plotting.

 

Current report WC + CC/ SC:
*still plotting*

 

 
WIP Issues This Month:
Something that might have been an issue *if* I wrote this month was making my WIP a YA or NA novel.  I can’t remember what inspired that thought—I guess it might have had to do with my recent reads (including my CP Yael’s WIP) and how I feel NA fantasy novels are lacking in general.  I mean, I don’t know if I would ever turn TSOTT into an NA novel. I guess it has to do with when I’ve collected my thoughts to know what would fit best with my characters and the plot… and you know, actually write.

Also, I’ve been thinking a lot about plotting not just TSOTT but the whole series to the end. Given that I intend to make it a 12-series book (each with a different protagonist), it’s quite a Herculean task. But again, I think plotting the whole series would help me be more grounded in my WIP world as a whole, and stop this endless cycle of writing and rewriting TSOTT. Maybe then, I’d realize that it’d be a 6-series book instead of 12, or books with not just a single protagonist.

 

Four things I learned this month while writing:

Didn’t actually read anything this month apart from my medical books. And the news. I have my cortisol-releasing board exam two days from now, but one thing I learned from preparing for my exams—which I’m going to apply to my WIP is to have a plan.  Not just a day-to-day, week-to-week plan. I mean, there are so many things that are out of our control and our plans often change, but the fear of that unknown shouldn’t stop me from having a long-term plan. A plan helps me manage my time better. And I’m so terrible with time management.

Which is why I’m going to go ahead and plot not just this book, but the others in the series. Might not make sense, but I’ve come to realize that’s what works for me. Being grounded works for me. Which sadly, might or might not be why I panic when I’m in situations I can’t control.

 

What distracted me this month while writing:
Rotations and studying. Plus massive freaking out.

 

Goal for next month:
I’m taking a week (or two) from studying after my exam, so I’d love to get to work on re-plotting my WIP. It’s going to be a long-range shot since it’s going to be an express kind of plotting…so I really don’t know how long that would take me. But one step, one scene at a time.

 

Can’t wait to catch up with everyone’s progress!

P.S: I’ll leave the linky open until the end of Monday, since I’ll be preparing for my exams and might not have time to go through everyone’s until Monday evening! ❤

 

8 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Report #14

  1. Jodi says:

    Twelve books? Whoa. I had a mini panic attack the other night simply because I’ve committed myself to four books in my series. I’m feeling so itchy to work on other projects, but I feel like I’m strapped down to the Aevos sisters. And while I love them and I love their world, I’m eager to explore some darker, more dystopian story lines.

    I hope you did good on your Board Exam! And how cool that preparing for that gave you some insight into writing.

  2. You are amazing!! I’m sorry that freaking out has been occurring, but it’s also *totally* understandable given the stress of exams, and what weight they carry. YOU WILL SUCCEED!! 🙂 I believe in you! And go you for thinking about plotting the entire series in advance. Even if and when things change as you go along, having that solid guideline (and guide being the operative word, meaning you change it whenever you feel the urge!) in place will keep you from straying off too far, or from adding lots of side plots that only muddy the waters (something I’m struggling with currently). Enjoy the plotting!! xx

  3. Yael Itamar says:

    I can absolutely relate to what you said about having a sense of control. One thing I keep telling myself about the exam is that once it’s done and I have my score, I’ll have much more of a sense of control over my life and my future. Even if I don’t score high enough for a competitive specialty, I can still re-route my future in a different direction. Once I know what my options are, the worst of my anxiety usually goes away.

    Planning helps with writing too. The more in-depth I plan a scene, the easier it is to write. (Sometimes when I’m having trouble writing a scene, I just start outlining it and then the writing just rolls out.)

  4. Knowing the whole series arc ahead of time absolutely helps. 12 books is a lot! Doable, but a lot haha. I definitely think, in this case especially, knowing how the rest of the series will go will help. Good luck on your exams 😀

  5. Amy McNulty says:

    12 books?! I didn’t know your project was that big in scope! Good luck–and best of luck with your exams, too!

  6. I found it helpful to plot out my series from the start, but it’s up to you! 12 books sounds like a mammoth task, but it can really be helpful to see the overall story. Best of luck! 🙂

  7. Aw, thank you for the shout out!! *hugs*

    Wow – you’re going to plot out an entire series!? 0_o much respect! I’m lucky if I can plot out the next couple of chapters in any form of detail. But you’re right – having some kind of plan definitely expedites the actual writing process.

    Wishing you all the best with your exams and all things writerly in April 🙂

  8. krystal jane says:

    I always hear from people who write series that it helps to know the entire plot arc from the beginning. I had no idea you were trying to tackle something this big! Having a plan will most definitely help! I have one series idea. Four books. Have a synopsis for each one. It makes things a lot calmer in the old brain. 🙂

    All the best on your exams and replotting your world!

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

