#WIPMarathon Report #13

9

February 28, 2015 by Ifeoma Dennis

Apparently, saying a month flew by doesn’t stop the next one from even spinning faster! So here we are and I still can’t tell where February went. o.O

Thankfully, from the look of news on the Twitterverse, I can tell that other wipmarathoners handled February exceptionally well! The trailer for Suzanne’s I Heart Robot was released yesterday! (and it’s awesome!) and Emma’s Adamant is going to be out next month!

 

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

45 121 words

Current report WC + CC/ SC:
Mainly plotting. Umh…read below for more info on that *insert crooked-mouth smiley*

 

WIP Issues This Month:
I tried writing three or four times the first week of February when I was in St. Vincent and had some little time on my hands (also, thanks to being inspired by Dark Places). However, each time I tried writing, I felt like I was trying to conceal a problem with gloss instead of breaking it down from the scratch and fixing the root cause. So I sort of knew I would have to rewrite my WIP from the beginning, although it was so hard accepting. But I’ve been through this before, not just with my WIP but with my studies, for example. But the umpteenth time always works. And I have no doubt this will work. I love this story, and I want it to be the best I can give. If something doesn’t feel right, it just doesn’t. So better to fix it than hope to gloss it over.

Of course, right now, I can’t start writing anything because I have exams next month, and probably two more before September, and my brain is sadly not that compartmentalized, so all I’m doing right now is plotting, taking it one scene, one chapter at a time.

 

Four things I learned this month while writing:

  1. I’m not sure there can ever be a thing like too much twists. Especially at the climax. Dark Places was really gorgeous. I guessed half of the end at some point into the novel, and then the twist of events made me change my mind, and when I got to the climax, I was mind-blown. I want to write a novel like that. It’s just it takes a lot of thinking. Because you have to stay one step ahead of the reader, and most readers are smart.
  2.  

  3. Writing a story with many characters with their different POVs is possible and can be done without confusing the reader. It is something I’m considering in my next re-write. If I should stick with just my protagonist’s POV? Or feature other characters. Right now, I’m just plotting from Pladdia’s POV. I’ll see how it goes. Yes, yes, yes, I really did love Dark Places!

 

What distracted me this month while writing:
The usual. Studying. My rotations. The internet. Still baffled the photoreceptors in my retina somehow can’t make out the blue and black colors in that dress.

Goal for next month:
Taking my exam next month, so doubt I’ll do a lot of writing, except for the last week but yes, I would love to complete the first and second parts of my modified plot.

 

How did everyone do in February?!

 

9 thoughts on “#WIPMarathon Report #13

  1. Okay, you’ve sold me — I just put DARK PLACES on my TBR list 🙂 I love how talented writers can put such compelling, shocking twists in and you’re right, staying ahead of the reader is super hard because readers are smart. I long to do this, though!

    And yes, that dress still baffles me as well. I saw white and gold (though ONCE out of all the times I looked at it, for a second it looked blue and black, but quickly went back to w&g). Dugald saw blue & black and for a day looked at me like I was an alien.

  2. Kristyn says:

    February has been so gross for me. And, I’m way sick. So, my WIP is late (boo!), but I got it up tonight (yay!).

    What you said about rewriting your WIP struck home with me big time. I don’t want to re-write, but I seriously think my WIP needs some changes. I struggle to decide whether it should be a re-write or if I should ride this out till the end. It’s pretty brave thinking you’ll do a re-write. Good luck!

    Also, good luck with your exams!

  3. Jodi says:

    Are you talking about Dark Places by Gillian Flynn, Ify? (There are a few books by that title). I have that one on my to-read list on Goodreads, and I just finished my latest read last night, so maybe I’ll read that one next. I’ve read other books by Flynn before, and they were pretty good, though it felt like the climax came way too soon in the novels with a sort of secondary, lesser-climax later.

    Best wishes on your upcoming exams! And for the record I miss my favorite CP! ❤

  4. Amy McNulty says:

    Don’t forget Suzanne’s book is out next month, too! (Well, not even before the next WIP Marathon update, though!)

    It’s really hard to decide to start over–I’ve been there, and I’ve struggled to push through. (I STILL have unfinished ms’es that need to be started over.) Good luck with everything you have on your plate!

  5. Thank you for the shout-out! ^_^ (And happy birthday. ;))

    I’m sure your rewrite will be fabulous! Best of luck with the plotting. 🙂

    That dress… I think it broke the Internet. 😛

  6. Replotting is what saved my MS. Take it slow. Slow is still progress, just don’t stop.

    I don’t get the dress thing, either haha.

  7. Also, thanks so much for the shout out about my trailer! ❤ ❤ ❤

  8. Sometimes taking it slow and doing scene by scene plotting is the best thing for the book. I’m sure all your hard work is going to pay off an your novel will be even more awesome at the end of these revisions.

    Good luck with exams!!

  9. krystal jane says:

    I’m beginning to think I’m the only person in world in the super slow moving time zone.

    I don’t do too many rewrites, but agreeing to do one is definitely the hardest part of the journey. I really hope this time works out for you. You’re keeping at it a whole lot longer than I would.

    Up until last year, I always wrote in multiple view points and had a lot of fun! Whatever the story need, right? 🙂

    Best wishes on your exams next month!

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

