#WIPMarathon Report #12!

19

January 31, 2015 by Ifeoma Dennis

So hard to believe February is almost upon us. I can’t exactly tell where January went.

But some good news did come with January! Emma revealed Adamant yesterday! And Amy revealed Nobody’s Goddess earlier this past week! Yayyyy!

Plus I’m super-excited because we have a new #wipmarathoner joining us, Kristyn! Please head over to her blog (which btw, has such a cool name!), and follow her on Twitter if you can! We need to give all the support we can to each other ❤

 

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

45 121 words and plotting

Current report WC + CC/ SC:
*insert sadly blerghhh smiley*

 

WIP Issues This Month:
Finding balance, which is more of a life issue than a WIP issue. I seem to have lost grip with how to multi-task, especially this January. I guess it had to do with me getting scared about my upcoming exams and studying like crazy (good thing is I improved!) and with five-days-a-week, 10am-8pm rotations, I always came home tired and all the spare time I had went to studying. Which is something I hope to correct in February, with my less tense, new 8am-5pm Pediatrics schedule (I want to believe I’ll have more hours to achieve things before I sleep!)

Four things I learned this month while writing:

The only thing I read apart from Lena Dunham’s Not That Kind of Girl, and a bit of Grave Mercy was my CP Yael’s work, which not surprisingly, taught me a good writing lesson.

Never be afraid to make things worse for your characters. Do not pity them because their adversities and the ever twists and turns makes for a very interesting reading that keeps you up at night.

What distracted me this month while writing:
Studying. Rotations. Traveling. I’m in St Vincent as I write this, and it’s been a bit hard keeping focused here since I arrived on Sunday, what with all the things I need to put in order before I head back.
Guess I could actually come up with all the excuses I want, but truth is this month got sadly lost on me.

Goal for next month:
1. Write. Find balance. Be less tired. Drink more coffee.

Last 200 words:

Can I take a rain check, please? I’ll definitely make up for it next month! In the meantime, here is a picture I took yesterday on the way to “town”!
10858448_334814956713939_6525688826282987439_n
How did everyone do in January? I hope we were all not lost!

19 thoughts on “#WIPMarathon Report #12!

  1. Huh. My comment disappeared. Am trying again.

    Good luck with finding a balance and getting your writing done this month! And I love that lesson about making things worse for your characters. So true! In fact, torturing your characters is actually a kindness, because that’s how they grow to become better people and deserve their happy endings. (That’s what I always tell myself when I’m feeling sorry for a character for whom I’ve caused endless problems.)

  2. Good luck with finding a balance and getting your writing done this month! And I love that lesson about making things worse for your characters. So true! In fact, torturing your characters is actually a kindness, because that’s how they grow to become better people and deserve their happy endings. (That’s what I always tell myself when I’m feeling sorry for a character for whom I’ve caused endless problems.)

  3. Jodi says:

    I really, really need that reminder to not be nice to my characters. I’m constantly finding myself softening the things that happen to them because “I don’t want to be cruel.” And it makes no sense, since it’s through adversities that our characters grow.

    Between your gorgeous picture and Krystal’s limerick, I’m really enjoying everyone’s “last 200 words” this month! I also love your current word count. 😉

    But seriously Ify, reading this makes me realize how NOT busy I am. I mean, sure, I have a full-time job, but this 10-8 stuff you’ve been doing…? Yikes. There’s no way I could write either. I’m soooo glad things are settling down for you now!

  4. Kristyn says:

    Such a beautiful place! How long will you be there before you go back? And where are you going back too?

    Good luck finding balance, I know that’s something I struggle with as well. That said, I don’t have nearly as much to balance. Good luck with next month’s goals and thank you again for the warm welcome. You’ve been amazing, especially since you have so much going on! 🙂

  5. “Finding balance, which is more of a life issue than a WIP issue.”

    I nearly put almost the same exact phrase on my update. Life issues and WIP issues intermingle but I think that’s how it’s supposed to be, and the good news is, when we find balance in life, it will improve our WIP (or vice versa 😉 You’re doing awesome though, and I hope you take time to appreciate how much you’re accomplishing now and then 🙂

    I’m SO glad to hear your rotations will be a bit shorter now and I hope you’re able to get more sleep!! ❤

    • Yes, I think that’s the same reason some writers retreat to their secret places to write. Because life frequently gets in the way, and for someone like me, I thrive when there’s more order (and time!) to things.

      I can’t wait to get started and to have longer hours (it’s actually just one-hour shorter than my last rotation) to study, and hopefully write and..sleep!

  6. Yael Itamar says:

    “Never be afraid to make things worse for your characters.” *snicker*

  7. It looks so pretty there!

    You know what– 10am-8pm 5 days a week is a SUPER busy schedule. That you’re studying on top of it, too, is crazy. So what if you didn’t get writing done? Don’t feel bad about it. Like you said, finding balance is key. Things will balance themselves out. When I was in college for my undergrad, I rarely wrote anything original. I wrote mostly fanfic because I couldn’t fathom coming up with a whole new, original world while going to class 8am-4pm, then going to work 5-10pm, then coming home to do homework. And it was okay! That break allowed me to do a lot of things I wouldn’t have gotten the chance to do if I’d been going crazy over writing a ton of books.

    Basically: Breathe. Enjoy the experiences you’re having now, while you’re having them, and if you have time to write, you have time to write. If not, you WILL have time to write. And soon. Keep your chin up! 🙂

    • Thanks so much! You have no idea how much better I feel knowing I’m not the only one who couldn’t handle thinking about a new world with a crazy schedule (Secret: I’m always feeling lacking about that!)
      I really needed to really hear that and know it’s okay! ❤

  8. Amy McNulty says:

    I don’t even have the excuse of traveling for why my month was slow! ^^; Yay for Emma and the new recruit! Don’t forget about my cover reveal too! 😉

  9. It took me a while to learn that lesson, but now I’m horrible to my characters. 😛

    It can be tough to find balance, especially when you have so much going on! I was terrible at finding time for writing at university, even though it was part of my course!

    Thanks for the mention! ^_^

  10. I am rather envious of where you live – so beautiful! As for the drink more coffee – yup, think I’ll join you there. I also recommend red wine 😉

    You are crazy busy! Wishing you the best of luck with your studies and all things writerly in February!

  11. krystal jane says:

    Ooh, pretty scenery!

    I had to learn that “don’t protect your characters” lesson a couple of years ago. I used to beat them up, but I went through a strange go easy on them spell.

    Finding balance is hard. Sometimes it takes getting incredibly frustrated and incredibly desperate to get some words down before we’ll find the energy and time to do it. I went a few years after college losing large chunks of time after work from being drained and tired and well, just not used to working since I’d never had a real job before.

    You’ll find it. ^_^

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

