WIPMarathon Report #11: Early New Year Edition!

8

December 27, 2014 by Ifeoma Dennis

Raises virtual glass to all the hard work we’ve done and accomplished this year! And what’s more how we keep supporting each other even when some of us are dealing with curves and turns in their lives. We’re a real definition of a writing family and I’m so glad to be part of us!

Because it’s our last #wipmarathon of 2014, and we won’t be having another one until next month, I thought it’d be nice we share our 2014 highlights and dreams for 2015 with each other, as well as the report. Just like we did early this year!

 

Things I’m Glad I Did In 2014:

  1. On our last New Year #wipmarathon check in, I wrote that I wanted to be focused this year. I think it was hard at first, but then later in the year, it became something I literally had no choice but to do. So I’m glad I’m learning how to be focused, and on the right things. It’s also amazing how it takes something/an experience to put everything else in perspective.
  2. Meeting Amanda Shayne in real life! There’s nothing like meeting someone you’ve grown to love and finding out they’re even easier to love in person. And I must mention I’m thankful she was so kind to meet up with me when I was still new to the United States and had zero friends, and helped me adapt in her own way. Thank you, Mandy for our Chicago adventures!
  3. Figuring out my WIP’s plot to a great extent. Not much of an achievement, since I’m still half way done with my WIP after almost three years, but I’m getting closer and that’s what matters.

 

 
In 2015, I’ll love to:

  1. Be less anxious. It is something crippling I deal with all the time. And anxiety makes me under-perform, not to mention it drains all my energy and optimism away.
  2. Be less fearful. Fear: the reason you need a stag to ward off dementors. In 2015, I’ll like to find, or re-find my stag.
  3. Manage my time well. I literally had no time for writing since I moved to the US, and I don’t know. At first, it was me adapting and now it’s me dealing with rotations and exams I still don’t have the balls to write. #pardonmylanguage
  4. Be happy. Hopefully.
  5. Continue sharing and celebrating our writing progresses together! 😀

 
 

Now on to our month’s check in:

 

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

45 060 words and editing

 

Current report WC + CC/ SC:
46 121 words and plotting.

 

WIP Issues This Month:
I really had no issues this month, and I figured out some major plot holes and even added a few hundred words! but again, I didn’t write much. But good news is I’ve been getting more insights on scenes that need work, so I’m excited that this round of drafting might be a bit more permanent. Or not.

 

Four things I learned this month while writing:

  1. Perseverance is the key.  Try, try again until you get what you want. This is also something I try to remind myself everyday about life in general.

 

What distracted me this month while writing:
Studying. My rotations. Sometimes I’m not even sure I have a life anymore. L

 

Goal for next month:
1. Tidy up my Scrivener, and organize my chapters. This is really important to me, as my Scrivener is so scattered, the more I write, the less organized it is.

  1. I’ll also like to accomplish another 1k. I feel really bad I can’t write faster, but then I guess I’ll just be content with what I can do until life eases out a bit.

 

Last 200 words:

It’s still a rough draft, mind you!

Niteo looked at her, until she felt his eyes boring into her neck.

“What?” she asked.

He shook his head. “Nothing. Just.” He exhaled. “Paranoia should be reserved for beings who have done things to be afraid of. But the universe is gutsy. ”

She nodded, fighting the tears forming behind her eyes.  He was right. It was only a gutsy universe that would expect her to make jokes and staying calm when all she wanted to was shout and lash out at the tiny wheels trying to control her life.

Niteo held her close to his shoulders, and planted a small kiss on her head. “Everyone here is doomed to lose their mind at some point. Sometimes, we try to fight the powers that be, and if we are lucky, we win. But the war never ends. There is always tomorrow lying in wait with its bait of madness.”

She looked up at him. “I don’t know if that’s supposed to make me feel better.”

“I have no idea too.” His voice was in that place between the room and his thoughts.

How did everyone do this month?

Here’s another glass to a productive new year!

8 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Report #11: Early New Year Edition!

  1. I’m so glad to be a part of us, too!! 🙂 I’m so grateful to have found you guys and love the support and encouragement everyone gives each other!

    “Everyone here is doomed to lose their mind at some point.” Wow… yes. Love it!! I think I can relate a little too well.

    And YES to being less anxious and fearful. Here’s to finding our stags and fighting off those dementors in 2015!! *BIG HUGS*

    (And I will be posting my year-end update, just very late!)

  2. What a sweet WIP Report to round off the year! I love the goals you set for 2015….to be less anxious and fearful; to be more happy. I want to adopt those ones too.

    LOVE the whole bit with the “gutsy universe”-very creative wording. And I love how Pladdia wants to lash out at the tiny wheels that seem to control her life. Great imagery. Niteo is starting to make me swoon a little with his charismatic gentleness, too. 😉

    Happy New Year Ify! *hugs*

  3. amandashayne says:

    I’m so glad I met you too, Ify! Here’s to many more #bestiehours in 2015 and beyond.

    I’m glad you feel you were able to be more focused this year. I think most people probably never manage that to the extent that they desire, so you should be proud! And your new year resolution to be happy–yes. Same here.

    I love how Niteo thinks/speaks–especially love the line about the the universe being gutsy. And the one about the tiny wheels. Okay, I love them all. 🙂

  4. Yael Itamar says:

    I like the line about the tiny wheels.

  5. Amy McNulty says:

    I agree with the above–you’re amazing! You have so much going on and you manage to do it all. 🙂 Happy 2015 and best of luck!

  6. krystal jane says:

    You’re still managed to move forward under the work load you have, and that’s something to celebrate! If that were me, I would have just shut down and not written for months, and I know this, because it’s happened.

    Perseverance IS the key to everything! It’s the only way to get where we want to go. 🙂

    Love the emotion in your excerpt! ^_^

    *raises glass* Best wishes for next month and all throughout the year! Here’s to 2015!

  7. Anxiety and fear are evil! I still haven’t kicked away all my demons, but I’ve been working on trying to shut out those negative voices. I know how hard it can be! It sounds like you’re pretty busy, so treasure the writing time you have. 🙂 And yes, perseverance is everything!

    Here’s to an awesome new year! 🙂

  8. I’m not surprised writing has taken a hit with how busy you are – don’t beat yourself up, you’re doing great! And sometimes thinking about a WIP is just as good as doing actual writing 😉

    I hope you find your stag! Anxiety and fear has often held me back too so I know the feeling. That’s why I’m so grateful for the wipmarathoners – it really does help having these connections to make us lonely writers feel less alone inside our complicated heads.

    Wishing you the very best for 2015 and I can’t thank you enough for starting the #wipmarathon community!

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

