WIPMarathon Report #9

12

October 25, 2014 by Ifeoma Dennis

Turns out it only occurred to me a few days back our check-in was this Saturday. A part of me always thought it was next weekend.

 

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:
69 068 words, and a first chapter I really like.

 

Current report WC + CC/ SC:
A measly 69 277 words. Did some minor edits on my first chapter. Nothing to be proud of, but I have a feeling that once I get back my writing muses, I wouldn’t have any other hitches along the way, plot-wise.

 

WIP Issues This Month:
Lack of time? October just flew by!

 

Four things I learned this month while writing:
I didn’t really write this month, and all but one of the books I read this month was all medical-related, but the one thing I learned from the one non-medical book I read is for suspense to work, there has to be the right amount of delay and good timing.
I’m working on this, because I tend to over-info dump, especially at the beginning.

 

What distracted me this month while writing:
1. Finding a house. I was lucky and found a condo in Buckhead that was in my price range via Craigslist. It was one of the most miraculous things that happened to me this month, given how central and safe the area is. And my new roommate is amazing. I like her already.
2. Moving! Is. Very. Stressful.
3. Adapting, which is still an ongoing process. My Internal Medicine rotations, which is a crazy 9am-9pm 5 days a week. Before that, I had neurology 3pm-12am-ish four days a week. So between my rotations and studying for my impending exams, I literally have had no time for writing. Most times, I feel like I’m outside looking into my own life, doing what I’m meant to do like a robot, but I hope I feel more myself/awake/alive to my dreams in November. I really can’t wait for the day I finish my WIP.

 

Goal for next month:
Finish chapter two. I failed completing that this month, but hopefully, November will come with all the right muses.

 

Last 200 words:
Not applicable?

 

How did everyone do this October? Better than me, I hope!

12 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Report #9

  1. Oh Ify, this makes me even MORE appreciative of the work you have done on my WIP (if that’s possible)! I’m sorry that your life is so overwhelming you right now. I hope that somehow you can get back to what you love doing, soon! But, meanwhile, try to be proud of what you are working toward. Xo

  2. Moving is incredibly stressful. And with how busy you are medical studies wise – wow. Hope November gets a little easier and gives you some time to write.

  3. Amy McNulty says:

    Moving again! I feel for you! Just THINKING I might move at any time (we’re trying to anyway) stresses me out. But I’m glad you’ve settled in nicely. Best of luck with your studies! I’m amazed you can balance any writing with all of that.

    I think I might have the opposite problem–I withhold too much info and let it trickle out too slowly?

    Good luck next month!

  4. amandashayne says:

    I’m so glad you love your new roommate and that the house turned out to be all you hoped it would be. I hope November treats you well both academically and creatively. 🙂 Love you lots!

  5. Emma Adams says:

    I have the exact same problem with infodumping – I suppose it comes with writing complex fantasy!

    Best of luck this month, with writing and non-writing things! ^_^ Hope the muses come back!

  6. krystal jane says:

    You know what helps me with the infodumping? I write it all down underneath and then see if I can weave the essentials into the narration or conversation naturally without interrupting the flow of anything. If nothing else, it draws my attention to it and helps me weed out information I don’t really need.

    12 hour shifts! Holy cow! 😦
    Hopefully things will settle down soon. In the meantime, I hope you’re getting enough sleep! Best of luck with your work load!

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

