WipMarathon Report 6! For July

7

July 26, 2014 by Ifeoma Dennis

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:
64 576 words, and was done with the second act.

 

Current report WC + CC/ SC:
65 680 words and still working on my first chapter.

 

WIP Issues This Month:
I think the main issue I had this month was moving (I’ll be leaving for Chicago shortly), and all the stress associated with it. There were days I just didn’t write at all (not sure that’s a WIP issue).

Also, I’m really having problems trying to tie up my first chapter with the last chapter, which unsurprisingly is even yet to be written. I need to sit down and brainstorm some more to handle it.

 
Four things I learned this month while writing:

I didn’t write a lot this month, sadly. However, the first step to writing is opening your Scriverner/ Word document etc.

I also read that when writing climaxes, a better ending is that which the MC solves by some ingenuity/ gift on their path.

 

What distracted me this month while writing:
Moving, moving, moving. 😦 And everything associated with it.

 

Goal for next month:

5k. Keep your fingers crossed for me, please!

 
Last 200 words:

Unedited territory but here’s my new opening instead (what do you think?)

 

The first sign of the uprising was here. And it came as a most dreadful symptom.

 

How did everyone do this month?

Xoxo!

7 thoughts on “WipMarathon Report 6! For July

  1. Jodi says:

    Whoa, Ify, I knew you were GOING to Chicago, but you’re MOVING there? Now I need to go back and re-read our last e-mail thread, because I missed that detail big time!

    That opening sentence…ooooooh…so interesting!

    Good luck with your goal of 5K this month, and good job on the progress you managed to make in the midst of all that packing–that’s definitely not something to scoff about!

  2. catyorkc says:

    Moving sucks. Except … are you moving to Chicago!!?? If that’s true, I’m so happy! I go to Chicago all the time and I can’t wait to hug you in person!

    Don’t get down about the word count. Things come up. You’re going to crush it next month. That’s how it always goes. <3333

  3. Fingers firmly crossed for you! 🙂

    Really like those opening symptoms – ominous and intriguing!

  4. Amy McNulty says:

    Moving! I thought I’d be moving this summer, but so far it doesn’t seem to be happening. But even just preparing for moving is stressful–and you’re moving some distance away! But Chicago!! I live about 90 minutes north of it, and it’s a great city. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful time here!

    Good luck with next month!

  5. Brainstorming can really help if you’re struggling to move forward! Your opening’s a really great hook – I’d definitely read on.

    Best of luck with your goal next month! You can do it! 🙂

  6. amandashayne says:

    I love your new opening! There’s no way I could read that and not KEEP reading.

    I know it’s been stressful preparing to move, but here’s to hoping the actual move goes smoothly, and that you love Chicago. And once you get there and get settled into a routine, you’ll find time to write, no matter how busy you are.

    And I agree–the trick is opening your WIP in the first place. And not pacing around for an hour, wasting time… Ahem, not that I do that. 🙂

  7. krystal jane says:

    Ooh, what’s in Chicago?!

    I notice that I’m more likely to write if I open my word document as soon as I fire the computer up. I’m actually rather reluctant to even close it sometimes. I don’t like losing my spot. Lol! But I don’t think you have that problem in Scrivener.

    Moving is a lot of work, especially as far as I think you’re moving. The last time I moved, I was literally moving just a few miles down the street and I still didn’t get any writing done until I was settled.

    Hands off the Chapter One. 😉 I like the sound of that first sentence! Uprisings are fun! ^_^
    I also shared my intro. 😀

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

