WIPMarathon Report #3

18

April 26, 2014 by Ifeoma Dennis

Whew! April’s almost gone, can you believe that? Spoiler for my writing this month: started really promising and ended on a where-can-I-find-the-time sad face. 😦

 

Last report wordcount + chapter count/scene count:

19 036 words and 8 chapters in

 

Current report WC + CC/ SC:

48 128 words and almost done with the 19th chapter.

I was aiming to be done with the second act and even go midway with the third act, but as of tonight, I still have two-three chapters to go before I get to the end of the second act.

 

WIP Issues This Month:

Never thought I’d say it but this rewrite has been going well. The only issue I had was time…or the lack of it to write!

 

Four things I learned this month while writing:

I started watching Scandal on Netflix. Well, I’ve only managed two and a half episodes so far (because time!) but one thing I learned from the first episode was how Olivia Pope’s job/company was described. For a newbie like me, it was easy to grasp. And made me think about how writing a fantasy world was like that. You have to have a good set-up, introduce the characters and the world in a way that a reader would understand.

2. Sometimes, it takes a lot of rewrites on not just your draft but your outline before you finally get a story you want to work with.

3. And in spite of working on your outline over and over, sometimes, when you write, your characters would still surprise you. Some scenes won’t make it in, and new, unexpected ones would.

4. It’s okay if you don’t meet your self-imposed deadline. It’s okay if life/school gets in the way. One day, you’ll finish your work. You’ll get to the end of what you’ve started.
 

What distracted me this month while writing:

School and books were the major distractions. My timetable got moved up and I realized how much time I didn’t have, so. 😦

 

Goal for next month:

This is really a low goal, (considering I was hoping to get this WIP finished in May) but I would be happy to write between 5-10K next month. I’m aiming for two days I can take a breather and do a #10Kin2days marathon. If I achieve more than this, I would really be happy!

 

Last 200 words:

So this is really out-of-context and isn’t yet edited, so…

“Your mother’s ready?”

Albina nodded.

“And Niteo?” Numen, why was she even asking about him?

“Still sleeping.”

She got up now, and Albina led the way out of the room and down the same passage they’d taken last night.

“He refused to tell me what was wrong, but I peeped into his washroom. Seems like he vomited.”

“Yes, he’s sick. It’s good that he goes home.” The last thing he needed was to be sick and accused of murder. All for her sake. No, it wasn’t fair. She only needed to not be selfish, to see it from his own point of view. Not that she could see it, but thinking it could make it happen.

“But that’s not why he’s angry though, right?” Albina asked. They’d turned into a narrower and darker passage now, as a fleeting zephyr of the morning cold passed over them. The passage opened into a wooden flight of stairs.

“No. It isn’t.” But she couldn’t bring herself to say what she had done. How could one say such a thing?

“There’s something you’re not telling me, Pladdia. You both had a fall-out over what?”

“It doesn’t matter. It’s past. And he’s going home.”

No, it didn’t matter. Albina—everyone—would find out when they came for her, as they would, anyway.

 

How did April go for everyone? Who achieved their goals? I can’t wait to read what we were all up to! ❤

 

18 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Report #3

  1. Cat York says:

    I’m late! But your comment on my page reminded me I’ve yet to take a look at everyone’s posts!

    Your progress sound great! Especially being so busy! I cannot wait to read your manuscript, Ifeoma. I want to know very badly what’s happening in this scene and why Pladdia is hiding something. Good excerpt!

    I totally agree with all the lessons you’ve learned. I’ve especially learned those middle two. You really don’t know what the final draft is going to look like as compared to that first draft or outline. Scene that seem interesting in your head don’t always play out as well as a surprise or a twist you didn’t see until you’re in it.

    Hugs to you! Great success! You’re awesome!

  2. 30,000k in one month? Whoa. There is no scenario in which I can pull off that kind of writing. Even over summer break I won’t get that much managed. Way to go Ify!

    I love the tension-building of your latest scene.

    • Haha Jodi, I laughed reading your comment. Who knows what would happen if you get to go on a one-month writing vacation 😀

      Thanks! I hope it carries over to the other scenes. 🙂

  3. Jess says:

    That’s totally a doable goal and not low at all. School always comes first no matter what 🙂

    I loved your 200 words! Thank you again so much for being such an inspiration and keeping this blog hop organized ❤

  4. Amy McNulty says:

    What an incredible month you had! I feel you on the lack of time disrupting what had been an otherwise good month. ;-; I’m glad you’re not letting it get you down!

    I liked the last sentence! It makes me curious as to what’s going on.

  5. krystal jane says:

    Great progress this month! Way to make good use of your time!
    I need to incorporate a #10kin2days marathon to break out of this lazy spell I’ve been in!

    I think you’re doing great. I know you’ll meet your goal for next month. And I’m so glad things are going well for this WIP now! ^_^

  6. Yael Itamar says:

    It sounds like you made A LOT of progress this month. You, like, doubled your word count. That’s awesome.

  7. Glad things have been going well, even with the lack of time! I don’t know if I could write 10K in 2 days, but that’d be a great achievement!

  8. What you said about how sometimes it takes awhile to get to the story you’re really writing resonated with me. I’m finding that to be so true. It definitely was with A BREATH OF SILVER. And now with the WIP, I’m slowly finding the tone and voice and characters who will make up the story, but it’s got a ways to go!

    Bravo on your productivity for April! That is STUPENDOUS!! You are an inspiration, as always, my friend 🙂 x

    • Thank you so much! In May, when you finish your draft, I’d be the one calling you an inspiration! 😉

      Crossing fingers you’ll find that perfect love affair with your new WIP soon!

  9. That’s amazing progress, congrats! And you accomplished a lot despite not having much time. As for that excerpt, now I’m extra super intrigued about what’s going on in this story. Looking forward to reading it one day!

    Wishing you all the best for May. Let me know when you plan on doing those sprints and maybe I’ll join you 😉

    • Aww thank you so much, Suzanne! I can’t wait to be done so you’d read! 😀

      I’ll let you know when I do those sprints, maybe a day ahead? Would be fun to try it out with someone!

      Thanks, and best wishes for May too! ❤

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

