WIPMarathon Check-In #3 (Dec/Jan)

12

December 21, 2013 by Ifeoma Dennis

Last Word Count + Chapter Count:

6434 words and somewhere in chapter three.

 

Current WC + CC (or SC):

14 552 words! I was shooting to finish chapter seven this week but failed. I made it up to the end of the chapter six though!                  

 

 WIP Issues this week:

I modified my first few chapters and I liked it at the beginning but now, I’m not very sure. I’m determined not to look back though until I finish this draft and get feedback from my CPs on how the early chapters fit overall with the plot. Because I might be judging myself too hard.

 

 What I learnt this week in writing: 

This quote from John Green/ One Tree Hill. I read it, and it made me sit down and write.

I also learned persistence can do wonders, and brainstorming shouldn’t be something to be afraid of. If a part of my plot bugs me, I’ll stop and deal with it. The answers will come if I try hard enough.

 

What distracted me this week while writing: 

I thought traveling to Barbados would distract me from writing, but strangely, I did write! And it was fuuuun. I spent time with a family over there and they made me miss mine so much I almost didn’t want to come back to St. Vincent and the Grenadines (where I live) because Christmas! And family!

So I’ll say my distractions this week were studying and the attack of nerves I had earlier.

Loved this beach

Loved this beach, although I came in the morning

One of their oldest buildings

One of their oldest buildings

South Coast of Barbados looked like this...

South Coast of Barbados looked like this…

And like this!

And this!

I stayed only one night, so couldn’t really go to the West and East Coasts (which I really wanted to see) but I did go to Bridgetown, their capital. I was more fascinated with the coasts/country than the towns though, being me. Saw people riding horses in the South Coast and wowed 🙂 Passed through a bit of East Coast (which had caves and forests and gardens) but didn’t stop because I’d miss my flight.

Hopefully, I’ll be back to see more someday (preferably with my family/friends who wouldn’t mind taking pictures of ME :p ) 🙂

 

Last 200 words:

Not up to 200 words, but my last words tonight nevertheless:

“Won’t it be hot in there?” Pladdia’s feet had developed a mind of its own, a mind determined to root her to the seething floor.

“I’ve been here this evening. Torr did some magic to make it conducive for everyone. For some time.”

“I see.”

She had to see Niteo either way, there was no running away from it.

Bracing her shoulders, she pushed one foot into the room.

Looking forward to reading how much everyone achieved this week! 😀

12 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Check-In #3 (Dec/Jan)

  1. Oh, wow!! Those photos are beautiful and I’m glad you got away for a bit and had some fun times! You totally deserve a break!

    As for your first chapter, I definitely think sometimes a break from it and moving on to other sections is the best thing. I could spend forever on a first chapter, but I think you’re right to move on and finish the draft before looking over — you’re likely to have lots of new ideas swirling after finishing that draft that you could bring to a review of the first chapter later, so letting yourself have a break from it can be a great thing! 🙂

  2. Sarah L Fox says:

    Awesome progress this week and an intriguing excerpt! Barbados looks amazing! 🙂

  3. amandashayne says:

    Great idea to just finish this draft and wait till you get feedback on your first few chapters. You’ve worked on them so much–you might find on looking back that they fit better than you thought!

    I’m so glad that John Green quotation made you go write! I didn’t write after reading it, but I did do some thinking and felt really inspired in general. And this is such great advice: “If a part of my plot bugs me, I’ll stop and deal with it. The answers will come if I try hard enough.” I didn’t do that in my first draft because I just wanted to finish it, but I’m definitely going to do that in my second draft!

    Glad to hear you had such a great time in Barbados and got some writing done too–it’s SO BEAUTIFUL!

    Your WIP excerpts always make me want to read more. I MUST know what is happening here. *waits patiently* *checks watch* 🙂

  4. krystal jane says:

    Yay! Looks like you had a great week!!
    You know, we can be incredibly hard on ourselves. If I think I might be coming down too hard on myself, I try wait a bit before looking back over it again. I think it’s a good idea to press forward for now.

    Pictures! So pretty! And it looks so windy, too. I love windy days. 😀

    I love the names you have for your characters. ^_^ You can really sense her tension in this.

  5. Barbados? Jealous!

    Sounds like you’ve been making progress! 🙂 Just try to shut out those negative voices. Brainstorming can be really helpful – when I’m stuck, I think hard about what I’m stuck on and scribble notes in a notebook.

    Intriguing excerpt! 🙂

  6. So jealous of those gorgeous photos!

    Your excerpt, like usual, makes me want to know more!

    Happy Holidays!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

