WIPMarathon (Dec-Jan) Check-In #1

22

December 7, 2013 by Ifeoma Dennis

Last Word Count + Chapter Count:

Remember that time I said I was already 11K into my second draft? Turned out it was wishful thinking. Had to start again from almost zero because I didn’t like what I had written so far. 😦

 

Current WC + CC (or SC):

6262 words this week. I completed the first two chapters! I wrote more words than that if you’ll take into account that I rewrote my second chapter from beginning to end twice this week.

                       

WIP Issues this week:

I just didn’t like the way my characters were carrying out the plot. And it was my fault because they didn’t write themselves! Had a lot of headache over how to fix them, how to fix the story, if it could even be fixed. But I think I did. I cut out a completely snarky chapter and replaced it with one that moves the story forward.

 

What I learnt this week in writing: 

It might be your second draft, but it doesn’t mean it will be easier. I used to think my first draft was me telling myself the story, and my second draft will be me writing it like a pro. But it seems the standard for this second draft is to write a chapter today and rewrite it next tomorrow with newer eyes.

And that’s okay. I’m happier with the rewrites (which sounds funny in my head since my second draft in itself is a rewrite) because it’s less my MC explaining to the reader and more like she’s taking us along with her.

 

What distracted me this week while writing: 

Studying. Life. Plus this little problem I had with paying for a form online. I just couldn’t connect to Worldpay but I calmed down after I found out I wasn’t the only one having the problem. But I’d already wasted 17 hours of my time wondering if it was my computer, my application, my internet or just that the network hated me.

 
And if you want to join us but don’t know how to, click here!

22 thoughts on “WIPMarathon (Dec-Jan) Check-In #1

  1. harveyjek says:

    I am in the SAME boat this week! I’m so happy you figured it out 🙂

  2. “Pladdia’s spirits fell and raged at the same time”…LOVE that. I am so curious about the gems on the bracelet turning bright red. What an intriguing little excerpt.

    I can’t even keep track of drafts on my MS. I write and rewrite and re-rewrite so many times that I lose count. Sometimes I rewrite TOO much, and it becomes like an over-processed oil-painting. That’s when it’s time to take a step back for awhile and view it with newer, more objective eyes later on.

    Glad to hear you’re accomplishing so much!

    • OMG Jodi, I’m so right there with you! Sometimes, I think my rewriting makes things worse!
      But yes, I’m working toward our deadline *wink* and hope everything would fall in place then.

      Good luck!

  3. Yael Itamar says:

    “It might be your second draft, but it doesn’t mean it will be easier.”

    So true. SOOOO TRUE. And then every scene is the hardest one you’ve ever written. (But >6000 words in a week is awesome!)

  4. Sarah L Fox says:

    Sorry you had to start again. I know the feeling! But you still made great progress this week! I enjoyed your excerpt, particularly the line “Pladdia’s spirits fell and raged at the same time.” 🙂

  5. Sucks that you had to rewrite but sometimes it just needs to be done and it sounds like you’re feeling much better off for it. I find that getting the opening is the important part because if you’re not happy with that then you’re not really going to progress that far.

    Hopefully you can storm ahead in week 2! Good luck!

  6. amandashayne says:

    Ugh, sorry you had to start over again. *hugs* It’ll all be worth it, and you’ll be so glad you didn’t settle. I realized this past week that the mood I originally planned on conveying didn’t come across, like, at all. So I’ll be joining you in the re-write department after some mass brainstorming.

    Your excerpt is too short, I need to know more!! I can’t wait to finally read the whole story and figure out the relationship between these two.Something to look forward to! 🙂

  7. krystal jane says:

    I can definitely relate to needling to rewrite things. But you’re right, most of the time it turns out so much better, and it’s really motivating see your story coming together. 🙂

    Ooh, I love that bracelet! That’s exciting. 😀

  8. catyorkc says:

    It sounds like you’ve made great progress despite the setbacks. Keep it up, sister. ❤ I can't wait to read it.

  9. Rewrites can be painful, but sometimes it’s better to notice things aren’t going right at an early stage so it saves time later! Glad you’re happier with the rewritten chapters.

    Intriguing excerpt! 🙂

  10. Aw man, rewrites are tough. I know how frustrating and draining it can be but congrats for sticking with it and getting those chapters down the way you want them.

    That excerpt has piqued my curiosity. Want to read more!

  11. Ooooh!!! You’ve got me totally wanting to know what’s going on here. I love the, “as if to tell him: see?”

    Wow, you got a LOT of words down — fantastic! I also love how you said it now feels as though the MC is taking us along with her, rather than explaining. That’s a great way to phrase it, and I think I might use that as a check when revising my own work. Is this character explaining, or do I feel like I’m *with* her? Awesome stuff. ROCK ON!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

