WIPMarathon Intro

18

November 30, 2013 by Ifeoma Dennis

So excited our WIPMarathon is about to kick off and hopefully, it’ll give me the push I need to work on my WIP.

If you want to join us, you can find out how here.

 

Marathon Goal:  Finish my second draft. I’m at 11k now, so figure I need about 79k more words. My first draft was 93K.

 

Stage of writing: It’s the second draft of the project I worked on during the August WIPMarathon. It’s more of a rewrite than a revision, so it would be just as tough!

 

What inspired my current project:  I talked about it here.

 

What might slow down my marathon goal:  Studying would slow me down. But I won’t give up on perfecting the art of balancing. Never!

 

Best time of the day for writing:  Mornings. I have to study for the rest of the day, but again, this might be reversed on the days I decide to dive into studying immediately I wake up. But I’d love to write every day, even if for one or two hours.

That’s it! Looking forward to reading everyone’s entries!

18 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Intro

  1. You kicked butt the last time you did a writing marathon Ify, so I’m super excited about this one! Hoping that your DoT catches up to mine. ;-D

    • Thanks, Jodi! It was a whirlwind first week and I failed my goal of writing 3.5 chapters every week but let’s see what happens at the end of the day!

      P.S: I screamed when I read this. In a yayy-Jodi-is-back kind of way!

  2. catyorkc says:

    Yes, Ifeoma! I love your attitude. So glad to be back with the wipmarathon-ers. Thank you so much for bringing everyone together again. Hugs and balance to you, friend. Xoxoxo

    • Thanks so much, Cat!
      Sorry I’m just getting to the comments. I’ve had an emotionally draining week in a way.

      But so glad that you’re joining us again! Hugs and much love to you toooo ❤

  3. Yael Itamar says:

    What is this “balance” you speak of?

  4. tawney13 says:

    Let’s do this! I had a blast on the first one and I know you girls will help me this round!!! ❤

  5. Skye McCraw says:

    I’m sure you’ll be able to find the studying/writing balance. If anyone can do it, it’s you. Thank you SO MUCH for organizing this marathon!

  6. amandashayne says:

    I hope that by the end of WIPmarathon, you’ll be a master at the art of balancing studying and writing! Thanks again for organizing this. You seriously rock. *good luck hugs* ❤

  7. krystal jane says:

    Best of luck balancing everything! 😀 I know you have an awesome game already though.
    I can’t wait to see what kind of progress you make. ^_^

  8. Amy McNulty says:

    Best of luck! 😀 Thanks for all your efforts organizing the Marathon!

  9. Cheyenne says:

    Your ability to balance (and it sounds like an art you’re really fine-tuning) is so inspiring!

    I finally read what your YA is about – hooray! 🙂 My women’s fiction began as a sort of cathartic, hindsight-is-20/20 fictionalised version of a past relationship, but that, too, became something totally *other* than the experience that sparked it, so I know what you mean.

    Thanks for introducing me to WIPMarathon and looking forward to it! 🙂

    • Awww Cheyenne, THANK YOU for joining us!

      OMG your Women’s Fiction sounds super-interesting and I feel so connected to you already! ❤
      It's funny how our minds work, isn't it? The experience formed the foundation and I still have the very first two pages I wrote on MS Word when I got the idea right in the middle of a lecture.
      It was a cathartic two pages but looking at them now and looking at what the story went on to become is downright amazing. I wouldn't have believed it would turn out that way!

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

