A Very WIPMarathon Goodbye: WIPMarathon Check-In #4

41

August 31, 2013 by Ifeoma Dennis

*Takes a deep breath in* *and out*

 
Trying not to feel bad as I write this post. I mean, how can August be over already?
Wasn’t it only the other day that our writing marathon kicked off and August seemed to be one long month ahead?
Our writing marathon with the best marathoners in the world. Marathoners who sprinted with me, marathoners whose daily reports inspired me to work harder, and whose general support and kind words made me sit down and write on the days I didn’t feel like it.
Xoxo!

 
So THANK YOU SO MUCH everyone for making this best month of my writing life so far. I hope it was the same for you. Please say yes! 😉

 
It was so energizing seeing writers who were pushing themselves in the same way I was, struggling with their manuscripts the same way I was, setting daily goals and sometimes failing to reach it the same way I failed sometimes, and it was even more fun when we had to work on our projects together (yayy for sprints! :D)
So sending hugs to all WIPMarathoners for being such a supportive group of writers. Ours is the best Twitter group EVER.

 
So… *exhales again*…here’s how my last WIPMarathon week went.

 
One more thing: We can do a December writing marathon if there are enough takers. I’ll send out word about it toward the end of November.

 
Okay, here we go.

 
Last Word Count + Chapter Count: 53 802 words and 16 and half chapters completed.

 
Current Word Count + Chapter Count: 72 274 words and on my 22nd chapter.
Also this happened:

You might not get this but I’ve seen it go from red to amber…and it did stay for weeks on amber… and now, I’m in the green light area. Woo hoo!

 
WIP Issues This Week:

I worried about sentence structure a lot. You know the kind of sentences that go like this-

 
“Give me the phone,” he said.
“Why not try and get it, you bastard.” She hurled the device against the wall.

 
He held out his hand. “Give me that phone, Lisa.”
“Why not try and get it, you bastard.” She flashed him an evil grin and hurled the device against the wall.

 
Might not make sense but I kept re-arranging my sentences and tags to make sure they weren’t coming along in a monotonous order, or sounding flat. And it slowed me down a lot.
*sigh* still on it. My sentences are yet to be perfect.

 
What I Learnt This Week In Writing:
That I can write almost 7k in one day. Haha. I just did this today before writing this check-in post. I’m not sure I’ve ever written this much in a day before.

 

What distracted me this week while writing:
My inner editor, and I went house-hunting for a bit. Tried to find a house near my school for easy commute next semester, but didn’t find any I liked more than my current house. Anyway, it’s only one semester left to attend classes on this very campus, so guess I’d be fine with commuting!

 
Plan After The Writing Marathon:
My novel is 90K which means I am still 18K behind! And school starts on the 10th of September . So if I’m lucky to write 3k every day, I can finish this first draft next week. Then I’ll put it away and give my brain some rest before I come back to revise it. I’ll also send it to my CPs and betas during that brain-resting period, I guess.

 

Last 200 words:
I’ve crossed the saggy middle and gotten to the spoilery, spoilery part of my book. So writing my last 200 couldn’t happen this week. But I cut it down to the last 51 words I wrote. Because those seem safe enough 😉

 
The words are unedited, and the final version might not bear any semblance to this. The word in asterisk is also liable to change. But here goes!

And the clouds split to reveal a city with lights that bounced upward to touch the sky.
Their Vertrix* plummeted to the ground, which seemed to be vibrating to the music of the city.
They were here.
The city where pleasures ran from dusk to dawn, and even the sands danced.

 

So what are your own plans after our writing marathon?
And how did your last week of our first August writing marathon go?
Do let us know and don’t forget to add your blog link to the linky below!

 
Thanks everyone again for making this marathon the BEST EVER. Much love and lots of chocolate. ❤

 


 

41 thoughts on “A Very WIPMarathon Goodbye: WIPMarathon Check-In #4

  1. […] A Very WIPMarathon Goodbye: WIPMarathon Check-In #4 (ifeomadennis.wordpress.com) […]

  2. cr8tivphenom says:

    You go Iphie! Glad to see you persist with your writing. You’ve always been an inspiration to me. I hope to begin work on mine soon…..😘

  3. Congrats on your progress! Just remember to rest if writing 7k tired you out. 🙂

  4. Tawney Bland says:

    Your word count is awesome! I want to than<#k you for a wonderful wipmarathon and how much fun it was. You and all the other girls kept me going when i felt I couldn't. I defiantly plan on joining in December!!!!

  5. RaeChell says:

    Okay, so I didn’t make my goal, but I had tons of fun! And I was so impressed by everyone. Especially you, of course. Looking forward to moving ahead in this journey together! THANK YOU!!!!

  6. catyorkc says:

    So awesome, Ifeoma. I’m so glad you took this time and made it yours. It’s a huge accomplishment and I know you’ll push through these next couple weeks and finish. Plus, I’m in awe of the time you put in, not just to your own project, but to lifting everyone else up who joined the group. René said it, You are a ROCK STAR. I feel lucky to know you, lovely woman. I know this is just the beginning of all the good things to come. ❤ xoxoxox -cat

    • Thank you so much, Cat!
      But to be honest, if you didn’t join in that first day, I might have been running a solo marathon! I’m sure it was because amazing writers like you joined that everyone else came along. So you ROCK.

      I can’t wait for good news to come our way too, and I wish you the very best with everything!

      xoxo

  7. René Gilley says:

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. YOU ARE A ROCK STAR. Not only for organizing this for all of us, but 7,000 words in a day. Wonder woman, who can write so much and one day will be a hero saving lives! HUGS and thank you for this. It’s been a ride and wonderful and gah, so great. You’ve brought so many of us together, that I feel is truely the wonderful thing about this month. Good luck finishing before school. I know you got fitted for your coat awhile back, when you get it, make sure you post a pic so we can all see how brilliant you look!
    Happy writing and take care!

    • Awww René, you’re just too kind! Thank you so much for being you, and for being a part of this. You went through a lot, yet you’ve been supportive.
      I know everything would work out fine for you, and when I take a picture I could always email it to you. But I won’t be working in hospitals until May of 2014, if everything goes well. I’ll keep this in mind though!

      Thank you again for being you, and for being a superwoman. <33

  8. Way to go woman! Question: How do you know that your book is supposed to be 90K? I’m at 55K right now and almost 17 chapters in–almost exactly where you were before your final update. I’m aiming for 75K for mine, although of course I’ll continue past that point if I’m not finished telling the story. But you sound so confident about that 90K, so I was curious how you reached that number.

    Isn’t it awesome to be on the second half of a book? I’ve never gotten this far, and I can feel everything building up to the climax now. Wish I could do this for a living! =)

    • You just made me think, Jodi!
      How am I sure it would be 90K? The thing is I always had this feeling about 90K from the very beginning. Even my word count widget on the right says 90K 😀
      Gut feeling aside, I mapped out 30 chapters while outlining and usually try to keep every chapter around 3K.
      But just last night while I was writing, it dawned on me that a part of my plot toward the ending had changed, so my book might not actually be up to 30 chapters. (I’m in the 23rd chapter now and I’m thinking it’d end at the 29th chapter). nI have some longer chapters though, so I think it’d still be up to 90K.

      And I know those feeeeels Jodi! You have no idea how many times I’ve wished I could do this for a living. Want. To. So. Much.
      Who knows, maybe two DoT sisters could be lucky and have this wild dream of theirs come true!

      *angel smiley*

      N.B: I miss your blog updates, but *sigh* I know you’re a rockstar elsewhere, so that’s comforting. I mean, that’ supposed to be comforting. 😦

      • *Awwwing over sweet rockstar comment*

        Your answer makes a lot of sense! I always had a feeling mine was going to be 75K, but now I’m thinking it’s going to go significantly over. I don’t think I can resolve the story line in a mere 20K. It probably won’t surprise you that my chapters hover around 3K too. The parallelism between our MSs never cease to wow me!

        Here’s to the DoT Sisters and their wild dreams!

  9. amandashayne says:

    This was definitely the best month of my writing life so far, too! Again, thank you so much for thinking up this wonderful idea and then making it happen. I never would’ve written as much as I did without this marathon. Another one in December sounds great!

    Congratulations on that 7k–that is crazy awesome! I don’t think I’ve ever written that much in a single day. And good luck finishing your draft next week–I can’t wait to get my hands on it! 🙂

    “The city where pleasures ran from dusk to dawn, and even the sands danced.” Can I just say, I love love LOVE this line. The end.

    • Thank you so so much, Amanda. And I mean it.

      You’re such an amazing superwoman, and this wouldn’t have pulled off without your help- setting up a Twitter list and going round supporting everyone. And ayou were also part of the reason this WIPMarathon kicked off in the first place. It was meant to be a personal thing when I first announced it on Twitter but you said you’d love to hop in and I was like why not?! So thank you!

      And keep being amazing. ❤

  10. Amy McNulty says:

    Congrats on all of the writing! You’re so close! Best of luck next week!

    Thanks again for organizing everything. 😀

    Oh, that inner editor! I try not to let it bother me too much during first drafts, but it’s inevitably going to slow me down…

  11. krystal jane says:

    You’ll finish! Because you’re determined and you rock! 😀
    Way too go on making so much progress with it this month! I definitely want to know about the December Marathon.

    The last 51 is full of impending excitement! I love the dancing sands. 😀
    See you around Twitter!

  12. That’s a great word count, congratulations! I love the excerpt, very visual.

    I was reluctant to take part in the marathon but I’m so glad I did. Not even for the word count so much as just the atmosphere and the community that it’s created with all the other marathoners. I hope it continues beyond August and that people continue to share their work and their progress.

    Good luck with hitting your 90k!

  13. Thanks Ifeoma!! You’re the best!!!

  14. […] WIP.  To say that I’m amazed and beyond thrilled is putting it mildly.  A big shout-out to Ifeoma Dennis for putting this project together.  Her brilliant idea motivated so many of us, and hopefully […]

  15. This has been an amazing writing month! Thanks so much for getting this together. Great excerpt, by the way. It feels very appropriate to the end of the challenge. If you need an extra beta reader, let me know!

    • Aww thanks so much, Connie! I’m so happy you liked the excerpt. And thank you too for being a part of WIPMarathon while it lasted.

      I’ll keep your offer in mind (and try not to get myself too excited). Thanks again 🙂

  16. […] huge thank you to Ifeoma Dennis for putting this all together! She’s made a huge difference to me and so many other authors […]

  17. Thank you for a fantastic month! The WIPMarathon was a brilliant idea, and I’ve had a great time meeting new writers! I’d totally be up for doing it again in December! 🙂

    7K in a day?! Wow. That’s twice as much as my all-time record, I think! Best of luck with finishing your book! 🙂

  18. Jayme says:

    Your word counts continue to amaze me. And those last 51 words – wow! In trying to highlight my favorite parts, I basically ended up quoting the whole thing: “the clouds split to reveal a city with lights that bounced upward to touch the sky.” “which seemed to be vibrating to the music of the city.” “The city where pleasures ran from dusk to dawn, and even the sands danced.” I already have such a strong visual of this place. Such beautiful, powerful writing!! 😀

  19. Laurie says:

    Well done, well done, well done, and thank you SO VERY MUCH for organising this marathon! It has been absolutely fantastic and I appreciate it so much. YOU ROCK. I’m going to miss it terribly. I’m definitely keen for a December one, so sign me up if that happens! 😀 Good luck with the rest of the manuscript! I’ll be following your progress beyond the marathon to see how the writing is going and all that. Loving your excerpts. Keep it up and keep in touch! I’m going to add my post to the linky tool now. 🙂 *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

