WIPMarathon Check-In #3

36

August 24, 2013 by Ifeoma Dennis

Here we go this week!

Information about the WIPMarathon can be found here.

 

Last Word count + Chapter Count: 36 100 words and 11 chapters completed

 

Current Word Count + Chapter Count:  53 802 words and on my 17th chapter.

Well, for an outline of 90K words and 30 chapters, I think it’s safe to say I’m more than half way through this first draft. CAN’T WAIT.

 

WIP Issues This Week:

I entered the saggy middle, and I’m still digging through the mud of it. Most days when I write, I keep wondering if the sentences are well structured, if my characters can be sympathized/empathized with, if the pacing is slow, if the world building is confusing and all that.  And my inner editor would always want to move into action but I’m trying to keep it on a leash because I’m still close to my work at this stage and need to give it some time before I can see it from the perspective of an outsider.

 

What I Learnt This Week in Writing:

Sometimes, telling is good because it can help you speed up a scene. Not too much of it, of course. And bestsellers do this too 😉

 

What Distracted Me This Week in Writing:

Little things. Life.
Also want to say thank you to Lauren Spieller for helping me through a rough patch this week. It’s funny how sometimes you can talk to your internet friends about things you wouldn’t tell people around you in real life.
And it was also this week that an awesome, top literary agent told me one of the most set of encouraging words I’ve had so far in my writing journey. It wasn’t on my query or pages, but on a question I asked. Still, the feedback made my heart many shades lighter.

 
Looking forward to reading how everyone’s week went 🙂

Please don’t forget to add the link to your post on the linky below!
 

36 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Check-In #3

  1. amandashayne says:

    You’re doing so well, kicking major word-count butt! 🙂 Your excerpt has me all kinds of curious. I can’t wait to read it! *wink wink*

  2. Good going to remember that you’re too close to your draft to make a judgement. Good luck with the middle. Fingers crossed that you’ll crack it soon. 🙂

  3. Despite the saggy nature of middles everywhere, you’re still buzzing along on that wordcount. Way to go!

    • Akismet caught your comment as spam for some reason and I’m just seeing this. But thanks a lot, Connie!

      • Thanks for looking at the spam filter. 🙂 I seem to be having that trouble with a lot of wordpress.com blogs if I just use the fill in form. I’ve got a self-hosted wordpress blog and wordpress.com seems to consider self-hosted to be spam. Hopefully the Twitter comment works. Anyway, if other WIPmarathoners see this, I am reading your posts!

  4. Congrats on your word count, that’s great progress! I never especially notice if I am ‘telling’ to much which is something I worry about but I’ll have to address it in edits, not now. And I agree, there is no ‘correct’ way of writing; some people show a lot, some people tell and it’s all good.

    I really like your excerpt, it’s very intriguing!

  5. Laurie says:

    Excellent progress, well done! The middle is definitely the hardest part of a first draft, but you’re moving forward brilliantly. That’s great. 😀 Really curious about your excerpt and I want to know and read more! Feels so full of magic and intrigue. I love it! I agree about the telling thing, by the way! Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do to get the ball rolling, and sometimes it just works. :):)

  6. lauracrampton says:

    Congratulations on a great word count. You’ll be out of the middle section soon enough and on your home stretch to The End.

  7. RaeChell says:

    Congrats on pushing through. And yes, many published novels break rules. As long as you KNOW you’re breaking the rules I think you’re okay. Good luck this final week.

  8. Skye McCraw says:

    Oh, the middle. No fun at all. I’m glad you’re getting some much deserved encouragement! And a big THANK YOU on the telling. Sometimes it’s necessary, and we shouldn’t have to feel bad about it. ESPECIALLY not in a first draft.
    FWIW, I love Palera as a place name. Or any kind of name. Very pretty.
    The excerpt is great!

  9. You are doing a great job! I hate the dreaded middle too.
    And I agree with you, telling can be a good thing in moderation. There are many best-selling authors who tell a lot, but do it very well. Keep up the great work!

  10. You’re at 53k+ with DOT Ifeoma? Oh my gosh, that means you have officially caught up to me! Keep up the amazing progress. I’ve drifted away from my WIP in the last few weeks (right after I started back to work), and I need things like this to light a fire beneath my tush. LOL

  11. tawney13 says:

    Good progress! I’m stuck in the middle too! Just need more words. I know what it’s like to have life kick you in the but. Internet friends are great! So I thank you for listening to me yesterday. I sure needed it.

  12. Amy McNulty says:

    Oh, no, that pesky inner editor! It can be really counterproductive to fall prey to your inner editor while still drafting. Keep pushing forward and great work this weel! 😀

  13. Roselle Kaes says:

    You’re doing really well, Ifeoma! Your WC is doing great. Try not to worry until it’s all done. I’m glad you had Lauren and the ninja agent to help give you the extra boost.

  14. Yes! Thank you. It is okay to ‘tell.’ I was literally just novel commenting on Laurie Janey’s post about the epiphany I had that all the books I like were not written in the way I was telling myself I was SUPPOSED to write.

    I feel like the Hemingway school of thought has cramped up the way people think about writing. Like, sorry, but I don’t want all books to be written by Hemingway, thanks-very-much.

    Screw the rules! Storm the castle!

    Good work this week!!

  15. Wow, great progress! I tend to worry too much as I go along, too – it’s hard to switch off the inner editor sometimes! Looks like you’re well on the way though! 🙂

  16. krystal jane says:

    You gotta tell sometimes. ^_^
    The middle is hard. I usually don’t notice it quite this much, but this time it was like hitting a wall at warp speed. You’re doing so well though! Keep that editor in the box. 🙂 I can’t wait to see how you do next week!

    I put asterisks by things, too.
    I love those last two lines. I don’t know what it means, but it made me smile. 🙂

  17. Juniper says:

    Wow, good job! That’s some great progress. I hope next week looks just as good for you!

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

