WIPMarathon Check-In #2

41

August 17, 2013 by Ifeoma Dennis

Here’s my second check-in for the August writing marathon! Time’s flying so fast, isn’t it?

If you want to join us or find us, click here.

Here my check-in goes…

 

Last Word Count + Chapter Count:  18 400 and 6 Chapters completed

 

Current Word Count: 36 100 words and 11 chapters completed. Working on the third scene of my 12th chapter now.

 

WIP Issues This Week:

This has been my most difficult week of writing so far.

I entered the saggy middle of my WIP and though I’ve outlined everything to the end, some days I still get worried about my writing being meh some scenes being too slow, or being too much of a set-up. But there’s no way to say if the pacing is okay until I finish writing this first draft, revisit it with fresh eyes and send it off to CPs and betas.

 

What I Learnt This Week In Writing

I did learn a lot from all the WriteOnCon events this week but my greatest lesson came from my mom and these two tweets from Amanda.
 

 

I was going through a school-related rough patch this week, and my mom kept drumming into my ears to write now I have a break, instead of letting not-so-little things disturb me.

And in a way, her words tied in with Amanda’s tweets because your book won’t get written if you don’t get to it, and life won’t always throw you a party to ensure you’re in the best mood to write. Life happens, and your book must be written in spite of life.

I also learnt a writing tip about writing beginnings, and thought I’d share given my long-lasting fight with my beginning scenes. You can read the post here.

 

What Distracted Me This Week While Writing:

It was mostly school issues that gave me headache this week. Headaches because it involved making decisions and I wasn’t very sure of what to do. But the days are getting brighter now.

And I must say the sprints on Twitter pushed me a lot to write on the days I didn’t feel like it. So thanks everyone!

 

How did your own week go?

Do add your check-in to the linky so you can share with us!

41 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Check-In #2

  1. Jayme says:

    Oooh! Nice cliffhanger!! 😀

  2. Sounds like you’ve gotten a lot done, despite the fact that you’ve been having some tricky situations in your life.

    Get through the middle. You can fix it later. Good luck!

  3. […] I’m a day late but using yesterday’s numbers but here’s the backlink to ID […]

  4. Laurie says:

    WOAH that’s a lot of words! Well done! Your scene is so tense and full of awesome! I love it! Good luck getting through the rest of the dreaded middle and dealing with school! You are an inspiration. 🙂

  5. 20K in a WEEK!? You are on FIRE! Keep up the awesome work!

  6. Awesome quotes! I’m entering the middle of both my WIP’s so I can sympathise with the same fears. But your outline will definitely help – I couldn’t cope without mine to keep me on track and remind me that I did have a plan! Let’s push on with the writing despite whatever the world throws in our paths! 🙂

  7. T.A. Brock says:

    You are rocking that word count!!! And that excerpt… I have to know what happens next! 🙂 Love it!

  8. Tawney Bland says:

    Love your 250 words! I so can’t wait to get my grabby hands on this. If you need a beta reader I am your gal!!!

  9. Very motivational! You’re making great progress and that word count is out of control! Don’t let that middle get you down. The middle is always the hardest.

  10. Saggy middle describes exactly where I have feared ending up this week. Having read your 200 words I don’t think you’re having any pace issues though!

  11. amandashayne says:

    Wow, you’ve nearly doubled your word count from last week! Awesome!!

    I’m in the exact same boat as you as far as issues this week. Outlining helps you feel like you’re not totally lost, and yet it’s still so easy to feel like everything you’re writing just isn’t working or creative enough. But you’re so right–we just need to keep writing and wait till we revisit it with fresh eyes before judging it so harshly.

    I feel so honored that you put my tweets right up there with your Mom’s advice, and I’m glad they help you so much! Your Mom is so right, and I’m glad you’re moving out of your rough patch. And I love how you put it: Life happens, and your book must be written in spite of life. SO TRUE.

    Have I mentioned that I LOVE your characters’ names? Probably not because I think this is the first scene where I’ve seen so many of them. So much tension in this action scene! I love that it ends in such an ominous way, and you can really feel their fear. I can’t wait to read more!

  12. Wow! You are just zooming along with the wordcount there. Way to go!

  13. […] See other WIPMarathon-er updates here! […]

  14. Major word envy there, you are knocking those words out!

    I have issues writing action scenes but yours sounds like it’s going well.

    Best of luck in the coming weeks, especially now you’re in that middle area.

    • Thanks Catherine! I’ll still go over them with fresh eyes but this middle is a tricky place to be, and I can’t just stay in one place for too long or I’ll get stuck.

      And I think I’ll try your Y-File idea and just keep notes of things to watch out in revisions, so thanks! 😉

  15. Way to go, Ifeoma! So jealous of your word count. 🙂

  16. Amy McNulty says:

    I love those quotes! 😀 Sometimes when I’m in a rut I try to remind myself to take it one day at a time.

    Oo, ominous place to cut us off!

  17. Cat York says:

    You are so dedicated. I can’t believe how much you’ve written! Your mom is right, don’t let the little stuff get to you and I agree with Amanda, no one else makes the work happen but you. And you’re working so hard. This is fabulous. Thanks for the motivating you’re doing for all of us too. 🙂

  18. Jayd says:

    Amanda’s tweet really was inspirational. Nice excerpt – sounds interesting! Hope everything with school works out.

  19. That last line is great! 🙂

    Enjoyed your post on in media res too – thanks!

    • Glad you liked it! Beginnings have always been hard for me, and seeing that article helped me know it’s okay not to begin in the middle of action if it has to pile on backstory.

  20. Hurray for persevering. Others can push you, but you still have to do the work and you did. Congrats for getting through a tough week!

  21. krystal jane says:

    I love that last line! I like the destroyer. 🙂

    Those tweets from Amanda helped me a lot, too. And you’re mom is spot on. We have to take advantage of extra free time when we have it.

    You’re doing so great though, oh my gosh! I wish I could catch you. Lol!

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

