Some Good News!

10

July 5, 2013 by Ifeoma Dennis

I have some good news to share! I scored close to 80 in this week’s Pharmacology quiz. Last week, I scored close to a 70 and the lecturer told me, “You’re not quite there.”

Four weeks ago, I scored close to a 50.

So it’s a continuous cycle of improvement, you see…and I hope to score higher in my exams coming up in two weeks.

And it’s good realizing that if I can work harder, maybe work harder than I’m used to, cut short my sleeping hours and the time I spend on the internet, I can actually get there. That almost-elusive place where the A students are.

I’m happy and I’m very much motivated. I’m realizing, hey the A-students have no extra brain cells…they have one head, just like me. And guess what? I have the power to be just as good…or even more.

But I’d have to say I’m one lucky girl because my parents are not hard on me at this point in my life. I mean, they do expect certain things from me of which I hope to deliver…but overall, they’re understanding. It’s like they have the faith I can handle it, and even if I falter, fail, hit my head on the concrete, they believe I can still rise above it all.

It pumps me up a lot on my down days.

A few weeks back, I told my Mum in tears I wasn’t sure I’d make the Dean’s List (the top 3 in every class) because I was finding Pharmacology and Pathology very difficult. But she was like, “Just do your human best. I know you’ll improve with time.”

And judging by my current scores, I believe I am.

It might be too late to make the Dean’s List but it’s not late to pass the bigger exams. So keeping my fingers crossed, my head working, my eyes reading and hoping for the best.

Wait…does that last sentence make any sense?

(And thank you Jodi for giving me amazing words of encouragement the last time I posted about this on this blog. I remember your words all the time!)

 

Also, I haven’t been writing but hope to catch up in August because my semester ends July 29!

10 thoughts on “Some Good News!

  1. Aww. Congratulations! Just keep going at it

  2. Oh…! *sniffle* I’m so touched for that shout-out Ifeoma! I’m glad my last comment offered you encouragement. Now if I could just listen to my own advice.

    I want to jump up and cheer for you over that *almost* 80! That’s a HUGE improvement! I love how you pointed out that all of those ‘A’ students don’t have anything extra or special, and that with a little willpower and commitment, you can be right there with them. That kind of level-headed positivity is RARE.

    P.S. Is your real name actually Ifeoma?

    • Thank you, Jodi! And yes, Ifeoma is really my (first) name. Dennis is my father’s name but not my real surname. My real surname is my grandfather’s name (because culture). I’ve been playing around with the thought of writing with initials instead of Ifeoma, but I guess time would handle that.

      Is Jodi your real name or your writer’s pseudonym?

      • That’s my real name, but holy cow that was so an accident! I have NEVER revealed my actual name on my blog, or twitter, or anywhere before. So now I have to go back and change that cover to say “Jodi Leigh,” although I wonder if there’s any point now.

        Your name is so unique and pretty!

  3. Sarah L Fox says:

    Congratulations! 🙂

  4. Jayme says:

    This is so exciting! Congratulations! I know you’ll get there if you keep at it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

"Dreams can get you through anything."

-Cat York

Archives

Topics I Blog About

Writing progress

DoT:

First Draft:

93210 / 90000 words. 104% done!

Second Draft:

40482 / 90000 words. 45% done!

